Giving Thanks for Adorability!

Cutest dang balloon ever!

Is that not just the cutest stinkin’ Pikachu snowman ever?

Straight from the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade poster. Pikachu was definitely just as cute in real balloon form. He was the most darling balloon of the whole parade, in my opinion.


While Pikachu may be a huge overload on the cute scale (his scale being 1’4″, 13 lbs), he wasn’t the best Pokemon, by any means. In the card game his best attack was “Thunder Jolt” which, on top of only doing 30 damage had a 50% chance to backfire causing Pikachu to lose 10 of his 40 hp.

File:Pikachu Red Cheek Variant.jpg

He was also a common find, so that makes him lose his thunder a little bit *ba dum tss*. Pikachu, in the video games, held no over-the-top ability, and about the best thing about electric types is that they don’t have as many weaknesses as the other types. On the other hand, if you were really all worried about defense wouldn’t you just want a Steel type? Oh anyway! What I’m trying to get at is, “Why is Pikachu basically the mascot of Pokemon?”

I’m going to guess that it mainly has to do with the TV show. From the very first episode Pikachu was there. Hanging out by his trusty trainer’s side. Ash and Pikachu had a strange relationship, but as their bond grew ever stronger, it also grew in our hearts. Sure, he might have been a starting Pokemon in the Yellow version, but you kept your Pikachu in his rightful place. His cuddly facade did not stop you from enslaving him inside a ball that fits in your pocket. Ash was different. Ash loved his Pikachu, and he wasn’t going to ever stop snuggling with that charming little ball of electrical destruction.

When I was knee-high-to-a-grasshopper I was smitten by the Pikachu as well. Now that I know more about Pokemon and the gigantic world they inhabit, I would have to say that my love for Pikachu is not nearly as strong as my love for many of the other just-as-delightful creatures in the Pokemon World.

133 Eevee        677 Espurr        093 Haunter        151 Mew        054 Psyduck        251 Celebi

Those are just some of my favorite Pokemon right now. Let me know what your favorites are and why! Did you watch Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade? What was your favorite part?

About poizonivyrose

I have a lot of interests and a big heart. I am blunt and honest, but I will help to pick up your pieces and get you back together if you shatter. I've dreamed of being a writer ever since I was young, but my mind changes too much to stick to one novel, so I ended up a poet and essay enthusiast. I will forever thank the gods above for spell-check!

Posted on November 27, 2014, in Card Games, Television, Video Games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment